Salesforce bills AI in actions, HubSpot in credits that pause when they run out, Attio and Close in credit packs. We priced the same three sales workloads in each vendor's own unit, for a 20-seat team at light, medium and heavy use.
A CRM seat price is only half the bill now. Every big CRM has added AI agents, and every one meters them in a different unit. Salesforce counts actions and conversations. HubSpot, Attio and Close count credits, but a credit buys a different amount of work at each.
So we took three jobs a sales team actually gives an AI, and priced them for 20 seats in each vendor's own unit. We read each vendor's pricing pages and docs on 27 September 2026. We didn't use these AI features ourselves, and no CRM vendor pays us. aliteq is a US company, so every figure is a US list price in dollars. Our guide to the best CRM for AI startups selling to enterprise covers the seat prices; this page covers only the AI on top.
How each CRM meters AI
Each CRM uses its own unit, so one "AI cost" line across vendors is meaningless. Salesforce bills per agent action or per conversation. HubSpot bills credits by a rate sheet. Attio and Close bill credits per feature, with packs for more. Pipedrive and Zoho bundle their AI into the plan and publish no meter.
How AI is billed, per vendor (27 Sep 2026)
Salesforce Agentforce
Unit
Flex Credits (20 per action, 30 per voice action) or conversations
Price past the allowance
$500 per 100,000 credits: $0.10 an action; or $2 a conversation
When the allowance runs out
PayGo billed monthly in arrears, or pre-purchase
HubSpot (Breeze agents)
Unit
HubSpot Credits, by rate sheet
Price past the allowance
$0.01 a credit; packs of 1,000 for $10
When the allowance runs out
Features pause unless you've bought credits
Attio
Unit
Workspace credits and seat credits
Price past the allowance
Packs: +5,000 for $70 a month (annual) to +50,000 for $475
When the allowance runs out
Features stop until credits renew or you add a pack
Close
Unit
AI credits, pooled
Price past the allowance
Credit plans: $20 for 1,200 up to $10,000 for 1,000,000
When the allowance runs out
Credit-based features pause
Pipedrive
Unit
No meter published
Price past the allowance
AI features listed per plan
When the allowance runs out
Not stated
Zoho CRM
Unit
No meter published
Price past the allowance
Zia features on Enterprise and Ultimate
When the allowance runs out
Not stated
Unit
Price past the allowance
When the allowance runs out
Salesforce Agentforce
Flex Credits (20 per action, 30 per voice action) or conversations
$500 per 100,000 credits: $0.10 an action; or $2 a conversation
PayGo billed monthly in arrears, or pre-purchase
HubSpot (Breeze agents)
HubSpot Credits, by rate sheet
$0.01 a credit; packs of 1,000 for $10
Features pause unless you've bought credits
Attio
Workspace credits and seat credits
Packs: +5,000 for $70 a month (annual) to +50,000 for $475
Features stop until credits renew or you add a pack
Close
AI credits, pooled
Credit plans: $20 for 1,200 up to $10,000 for 1,000,000
Credit-based features pause
Pipedrive
No meter published
AI features listed per plan
Not stated
Zoho CRM
No meter published
Zia features on Enterprise and Ultimate
Not stated
Two rules sit under this table. First, Salesforce doesn't let you mix models: its FAQ says "Flex Credits and Conversations will not be supported in the same org." Second, none of these vendors rolls unused credits forward. HubSpot, Attio and Close reset monthly. Salesforce's included credits are a yearly pool, and "Unused Flex Credits do not roll over into subsequent subscription terms."
What 20 seats get included
Most CRMs give one AI pool per account, not per seat. So a 20-seat team gets the same allowance as a 5-seat team on HubSpot, Attio and Salesforce. Close adds credits per user, but stops adding after 10 users.
One field fill = an AI step that writes one value on one record. Salesforce's yearly pool is shown as a monthly average. · aliteq research
Included AI for a 20-seat team (27 Sep 2026)
Salesforce Core ($195 a seat)
Included
500,000 Flex Credits a year (Advanced 1M, Max 2.75M)
Grows with seats?
No, per org
Worth at list price
$2,500 a year, about 25,000 actions
HubSpot Professional
Included
Pricing page: 10,000 credits a month. Catalog: 5,000
Grows with seats?
No, per account
Worth at list price
$100 or $50 a month
Attio Pro ($79 a seat)
Included
10,000 workspace credits a month, plus 1,000 seat credits per user for Ask Attio
Grows with seats?
Seat credits only
Worth at list price
About $140 a month at pack prices
Close Scale ($139 a seat)
Included
2,000 credits a user a month, capped at 20,000
Grows with seats?
Up to 10 users
Worth at list price
About $200 to $340 a month
Included
Grows with seats?
Worth at list price
Salesforce Core ($195 a seat)
500,000 Flex Credits a year (Advanced 1M, Max 2.75M)
No, per org
$2,500 a year, about 25,000 actions
HubSpot Professional
Pricing page: 10,000 credits a month. Catalog: 5,000
No, per account
$100 or $50 a month
Attio Pro ($79 a seat)
10,000 workspace credits a month, plus 1,000 seat credits per user for Ask Attio
Seat credits only
About $140 a month at pack prices
Close Scale ($139 a seat)
2,000 credits a user a month, capped at 20,000
Up to 10 users
About $200 to $340 a month
Salesforce's Starter and Pro Suite editions list no Flex Credits, and its pricing page says "AI can be added to Core and above." Seat prices come from each vendor's page on annual billing; the CRM seat-cost guide has the full table.
HubSpot's two numbers
HubSpot's own documents disagree on the allowance, and we couldn't resolve it. The pricing page's plan cards show 5,000 credits on Starter, 10,000 on Professional and 15,000 on Enterprise. HubSpot's Product and Services Catalog, its legal price list, gives Customer Platform 500, 5,000 and 10,000. Single hubs such as Sales Hub get 500, 3,000 and 5,000.
HubSpot's knowledge base uses the smaller catalog numbers in its examples. The pricing page's FAQ gives no number at all. We price with the catalog figure, the conservative one. If the pricing page is right, each HubSpot bill below drops by 5,000 credits, or $50 a month. Ask HubSpot to put your allowance in the order form.
What one AI task costs past the allowance
Once the allowance is gone, filling one field on a record costs about a dime on Salesforce and HubSpot, and one to two cents on Attio. Researching a lead is where the gap opens: $1.00 on HubSpot, against about $0.14 on Attio.
Each task priced in the vendor's own unit, then in dollars. Salesforce's lead and chat action counts are our assumptions. · aliteq research
We defined three tasks, then matched each to the closest thing each vendor prices:
Fill one field on a record. An AI step writes one value: a summary, a category or an enriched fact. Salesforce: one Agentforce action; "updating a record" is Salesforce's own example of an action. HubSpot: a Data agent prompt on one record, or one AI action in a workflow, 10 credits each. Attio: an AI attribute such as prompt completion or summarize, 1 credit per record. Close: enrichment, "6 credits" per field on one record.
Research one lead. HubSpot's Prospecting agent is 100 credits to "Recommend outreach for one lead". Attio's web agent is 10 credits a record. Salesforce doesn't publish how many actions its prospecting or account research agents use, so we assume one. For Close we assume three enriched fields, or 18 credits.
Handle one customer chat. HubSpot's customer agent is 50 credits to "Resolve one conversation". Salesforce's worked examples run two to five actions per request, so we assume three on Flex Credits, or $2 on its Conversations model. Attio and Close don't price a text chat agent on the pages we read.
Credits buy wildly different amounts at each vendor, so compare dollars per task, never credits per plan. A HubSpot credit costs $0.01 and a Salesforce Flex Credit $0.005, but a HubSpot record prompt takes 10 credits and a Salesforce action takes 20. They land at the same $0.10.
Three workloads, priced for 20 seats
At our light workload, only HubSpot bills much past its allowance: about $350 a month. At medium, the extra runs from $120 on Attio Pro to $2,250 on HubSpot Pro. At heavy, from $475 to $8,450. The workloads are our assumptions, so change them to your own numbers.
Extra cost a month past each plan's included AI, list price. Coral bars leave out customer chats, which Attio and Close don't sell. · aliteq research
Here are the workloads, for a team of 20 reps:
Light: 2,000 field fills and 200 leads researched a month. That's about five AI field fills per rep per working day.
Medium: 8,000 field fills, 1,000 leads researched and 1,000 customer chats handled by an agent.
Heavy: 20,000 field fills, 4,000 leads and 5,000 chats.
First, the units each vendor would count. These are the numbers to check against your own usage report.
Units used a month, 20 seats (our workloads)
Salesforce Core (Flex Credits)
Light
44,000 (2,200 actions)
Medium
240,000 (12,000 actions)
Heavy
780,000 (39,000 actions)
HubSpot Pro (HubSpot Credits)
Light
40,000
Medium
230,000
Heavy
850,000
Attio Pro (workspace credits)
Light
4,000
Medium
18,000 (no chats)
Heavy
60,000 (no chats)
Close Scale (AI credits)
Light
15,600
Medium
66,000 (no chats)
Heavy
192,000 (no chats)
Light
Medium
Heavy
Salesforce Core (Flex Credits)
44,000 (2,200 actions)
240,000 (12,000 actions)
780,000 (39,000 actions)
HubSpot Pro (HubSpot Credits)
40,000
230,000
850,000
Attio Pro (workspace credits)
4,000
18,000 (no chats)
60,000 (no chats)
Close Scale (AI credits)
15,600
66,000 (no chats)
192,000 (no chats)
Then the dollars past each allowance, at list price:
Extra AI cost past the allowance, 20 seats (USD, list)
Salesforce Core, Flex Credits
Light
$140 a year (about $12 a month)
Medium
$11,900 a year (about $992 a month)
Heavy
$44,300 a year (about $3,692 a month)
HubSpot Pro, catalog allowance
Light
$350 a month
Medium
$2,250 a month
Heavy
$8,450 a month
Attio Pro, packs on annual billing
Light
$0
Medium
$120 a month (+10,000 pack)
Heavy
$475 a month (+50,000 pack)
Close Scale, credit plan
Light
$0
Medium
$500 a month (47,000 credits)
Heavy
$2,000 a month (200,000 credits)
Light
Medium
Heavy
Salesforce Core, Flex Credits
$140 a year (about $12 a month)
$11,900 a year (about $992 a month)
$44,300 a year (about $3,692 a month)
HubSpot Pro, catalog allowance
$350 a month
$2,250 a month
$8,450 a month
Attio Pro, packs on annual billing
$0
$120 a month (+10,000 pack)
$475 a month (+50,000 pack)
Close Scale, credit plan
$0
$500 a month (47,000 credits)
$2,000 a month (200,000 credits)
How we got there, vendor by vendor, using each one's own billing rule:
Salesforce includes 500,000 credits a year on Core, so we compare a year of use with the yearly pool. Medium: 240,000 credits a month is 2,880,000 a year, 2,380,000 over the pool, times $0.005 is $11,900.
HubSpot is billed monthly: credits used minus the 5,000 included, times $0.01. Medium: 225,000 credits over is $2,250. The pricing page's 10,000 would make it $2,200.
Attio sells whole packs. Medium needs 8,000 more credits, so the +10,000 pack at $120 a month on annual billing ($150 monthly).
Close sells credit plan tiers. Medium needs 46,000 more credits, so Tier 8, which has 47,000 for $500.
This is not a ranking. Attio and Close carry no chat workload, because they don't sell a text chat agent, and their seats cost differently. HubSpot's biggest line in the medium and heavy months is the Prospecting agent: 4,000 leads at $1 each is $4,000 of the $8,450. If you'd research leads another way, HubSpot's bill falls fast.
Salesforce: Flex Credits, Conversations or the $125 add-on
Salesforce sells Agentforce three ways, and the right one depends on who talks to the agent. Flex Credits bill each action at $0.10. Conversations bill $2 per customer conversation. Per-user add-ons at $125 a month give "Unmetered Agentforce usage for employees".
The maths between them is simple:
Flex vs Conversations: $2 buys 20 actions. If your customer agent averages fewer than 20 actions a chat, Flex is cheaper. Salesforce's own examples run two to five.
Flex vs the $125 add-on: $125 buys 1,250 actions. A rep whose own AI use tops 1,250 actions a month is cheaper on the add-on.
Our heavy workload puts 24,000 employee actions across 20 reps, 1,200 each. That's just under the line. With add-ons for everyone plus Flex Credits for the chats, we get $45,500 a year, against $44,300 on Flex alone.
That add-on figure assumes the lead research runs as employee usage, which is our reading of "for employees". Confirm it with your account executive. Also note the smaller costs around the edges: an Agentforce User License is $5 a user a month and "Requires Flex Credits", and Salesforce's examples "do not include other costs like Data 360 credits". EU buyers pay €500 per 100,000 credits, which is $570.15 at the ECB rate of 25 September 2026, 14% more than the US list.
HubSpot: what Breeze includes and what costs credits
Breeze Assistant comes with every HubSpot seat, and it isn't on the credits rate sheet. The Breeze agents are what spend credits. HubSpot's catalog says a Core Seat "Grants core access to all purchased products, built-in AI with Breeze Assistant".
What each agent costs, from HubSpot's rate sheet, at $0.01 a credit:
Prospecting agent: recommend outreach for one lead
Credits
100
At $0.01
$1.00
Data agent: one prompt for one record
Credits
10
At $0.01
$0.10
Workflows: one AI action
Credits
10
At $0.01
$0.10
Nurture agent (Beta): personalize one email
Credits
10
At $0.01
$0.10
Content agent (Beta): one piece of content
Credits
1,000
At $0.01
$10.00
Revenue agent (Beta): start collection for one invoice
Credits
500
At $0.01
$5.00
Credits
At $0.01
Customer agent: resolve one conversation (text)
50
$0.50
Customer agent (Beta): one minute of voice
50
$0.50
Prospecting agent: recommend outreach for one lead
100
$1.00
Data agent: one prompt for one record
10
$0.10
Workflows: one AI action
10
$0.10
Nurture agent (Beta): personalize one email
10
$0.10
Content agent (Beta): one piece of content
1,000
$10.00
Revenue agent (Beta): start collection for one invoice
500
$5.00
Three billing rules matter more than the rates:
The allowance is a hard stop. HubSpot's knowledge base says that if you haven't bought extra credits, "any usage-based features will pause until your next reset date." Overage billing needs a credit purchase first.
The default changed on 16 September 2026. Credits bought on or after that date default to pay-as-you-go overage. Earlier buyers default to auto-upgrade, which adds 1,000-credit packs "for the remainder of your contract".
Packs are a commitment. You can only cancel or downgrade credit packs at the end of the term. From the pricing page's own price data, 5,000 extra credits list at $50 a month, or $45 paid annually.
Attio, Close, Pipedrive and Zoho
Attio has two credit pools. Workspace credits (10,000 a month on Pro) pay for workflows and AI attributes. Seat credits (1,000 a user on Pro) pay only for Ask Attio, its assistant, and can't be shared. Its guide prices the pieces plainly: "Summarize record: 1 credit per record", "Web agent: 10 credits per record". An Ask Attio request like "Prep me for my next meeting" is 10 to 20 credits. In new workflows, triggers and logic are free, and data writes are 1 credit.
Close gives 2,000 credits a user a month on Scale, but "Additional users beyond the cap don't add more included credits": the cap is 10 users, so 20,000. Many of its AI features never use credits, including Chloe Chat, the notetaker, lead summaries and email drafting. Credits go to enrichment ("6 credits" a field), Auto Updates and Chloe voice agents, which also pay telephony rates. Close doesn't state the credits per Auto Update or per voice minute.
Pipedrive lists AI report creation and its Nova meeting briefs on Lite, and AI email writing and summaries on Premium. It publishes no credit system or per-use AI price on its pricing or AI pages, so there's nothing to meter here.
Zoho CRM lists its Zia AI features, such as workflow suggestions and email intent and sentiment analysis, on Enterprise ($40 a seat, annual) and Ultimate. Its comparison page shows no per-use AI price.
How to keep the AI line predictable
The cheapest AI line is the one you've measured before you sign. Every vendor here shows usage by feature, and most let you set limits.
Count tasks, not seats. Estimate field fills, leads researched and customer chats a month, then price them with the per-task chart above.
Get the allowance in writing. HubSpot's pricing page and catalog disagree; ask for the monthly credit number on your order form.
Set a cap before go-live. HubSpot and Attio let admins cap usage by feature. Close has no global cap on voice agents, so limit those by hand.
Watch the commitment. HubSpot credit packs and Salesforce pre-purchases run to the end of the term, and no vendor rolls unused credits forward.
Check the per-user break-even. On Salesforce, the $125 add-on beats Flex once a rep drives more than 1,250 actions a month.
Put your own seat count into the calculator to see the seat side of the bill, then add the AI line from the tables above.
What your CRM costs, by seat count
Years
Cheapest here
Pipedrive
$10,080 · Lite
Cheapest with SAML listed
Pipedrive
$10,080 · Lite
Priciest here
$140,400
Salesforce · Core
Vendor · plan
Per seat/mo
3-year total
SSO
PipedriveLite · $14/seatSAML SSO on every plan; audit log and sandbox need Ultimate ($79)
$14
$10,080
SAML
TwentyOrganization · $19/seatSAML/OIDC SSO, cloud or self-hosted
$19
$13,680
SAML
Zoho CRMEnterprise · $40/seatSandbox and custom modules; SSO not on the compare page
$40
$28,800
Not listed
FolkPremium · $48/seatPricing page lists Google SSO only
$48
$34,560
Google
AttioPro (SSO needs Enterprise) · $79/seatSSO is on Enterprise, which has no public price
$79
$56,880
Quote
HubSpotPro, Front Office Seat · $108/seatSAML SSO from Professional; 12-month commitment
$108
$77,760+ up to $1,500 onboarding
SAML
CloseScale · $139/seatPricing page lists Google SSO only
$139
$100,080
Google
SalesforceCore · $195/seatAnnual only; SSO tier not on the pricing page
$195
$140,400
Not listed
Enterprise mode uses the cheapest plan whose pricing page lists SAML SSO. Where a vendor doesn't list SAML, it uses the plan an enterprise-selling team would typically need and says so.
List prices in USD from HubSpot (pricing page price data), Salesforce, Pipedrive, Attio, Close, Folk, Zoho and Twenty, all read 27 Sep 2026. Before promotions, startup programmes, negotiation and tax. Onboarding is HubSpot's catalog fee, which its checkout didn't show, so it's “up to”. “Not listed” means the pricing page has no SAML row, not that the vendor can't do it. AI credits past the included allowance aren't counted.
If a CRM's agent pricing looks steep for simple jobs, building your own flow is the other route. Our AI automation hub compares Zapier, Make, n8n and agent platforms on the same kind of workloads, and what it costs to run an open model shows the token side. The rest of the software stack is on our business software hub.
Quick answers
How much does Agentforce cost?
Salesforce lists Flex Credits at $500 per 100,000. An Agentforce action uses 20 credits, so $0.10, and a voice action 30, so $0.15. The alternative is $2 per conversation, but one org can't use both models. Sales Cloud Core includes 500,000 Flex Credits a year.
How many HubSpot credits do I get?
It depends which HubSpot page you read. The pricing page shows 5,000, 10,000 and 15,000 credits a month on Starter, Professional and Enterprise. The product catalog lists 500, 5,000 and 10,000 for Customer Platform. Extra credits cost $0.01 each.
Is HubSpot Breeze free?
Breeze Assistant comes with every paid seat and isn't on HubSpot's credits rate sheet. The Breeze agents use credits: a resolved customer-agent conversation is 50 credits ($0.50) and the Prospecting agent is 100 credits ($1.00) per lead.
What happens when I run out of HubSpot credits?
If you haven't bought extra credits, HubSpot pauses usage-based features until your monthly reset. Once you buy credits, overage is billed at $0.01 a credit on pay-as-you-go, the default for purchases from 16 September 2026.
How do Attio credits work?
Attio Pro includes 10,000 workspace credits a month for workflows and AI attributes, plus 1,000 seat credits per user for its Ask Attio assistant. An AI summary of a record costs 1 credit and web research 10. Extra packs start at 5,000 credits for $70 a month on annual billing.
Is the Agentforce $125 add-on worth it?
It gives unmetered Agentforce use for employees at $125 a user a month. At $0.10 per Flex Credit action, it pays off once a user drives more than 1,250 actions a month. Customer-facing agents still need Flex Credits or Conversations.
Use this in your own page
Teaching this? Paste the live version into your course, blog or answer. Free, no sign-up; the credit line links back here.