ChatGPT Business and Claude Team are both $20 a seat on annual billing. Microsoft's Copilot add-on looks cheaper at $18 but needs a Microsoft 365 license under it. We priced four AI seat plans at 10, 25 and 50 users and read each vendor's data terms.
Four vendors sell an AI seat to a small US company, and each page names a different number. $20, $21, $18 and from $21 look close. They are not the same thing. One is a stand-alone chat product, one is an add-on to software you already pay for, and two are bundled into a larger suite.
We read each vendor's own pricing page and data-handling pages on 3 October 2026 and put the seat plans side by side. We haven't used any of these business plans ourselves, and none of these vendors pays us. For the API side of the same question, where the model runs and what it costs per token, see our EU data residency AI API cost guide and the private LLM cost guide.
What each seat costs per month
The entry seat costs $18 to $32 a month, depending on whether you count the Microsoft license. ChatGPT Business and Claude Team are identical at $20 annual and $25 monthly. Gemini Enterprise starts at $21. Microsoft's add-on is $21, or $18 until 31 December 2026.
Entry seats, annual billing, USD a month before tax. Read from each vendor's page on 3 October 2026. · aliteq research
Per seat, per month (USD)
ChatGPT Business, standard
Annual billing
$20
Monthly billing
$25
Seats allowed
2 to 200
ChatGPT Business, premium
Annual billing
$100
Monthly billing
$125
Seats allowed
2 to 200
Claude Team, standard
Annual billing
$20
Monthly billing
$25
Seats allowed
2 to 150
Claude Team, premium
Annual billing
$100
Monthly billing
$125
Seats allowed
2 to 150
Gemini Enterprise, Business edition
Annual billing
From $21 (term not stated)
Monthly billing
Not stated
Seats allowed
Up to 300
Gemini Enterprise, Standard / Plus
Annual billing
From $30 (contact sales)
Monthly billing
Not stated
Seats allowed
Unlimited
Microsoft 365 Copilot Business (add-on)
Annual billing
$21, promo $18
Monthly billing
$25.20
Seats allowed
Business plans up to 300
Microsoft 365 Business Standard with Copilot
Annual billing
$23.50
Monthly billing
$28.20
Seats allowed
Up to 300
Microsoft 365 Business Premium with Copilot
Annual billing
$32
Monthly billing
$38.40
Seats allowed
Up to 300
Microsoft 365 Copilot (enterprise add-on)
Annual billing
$30
Monthly billing
$31.50
Seats allowed
No cap stated
Annual billing
Monthly billing
Seats allowed
ChatGPT Business, standard
$20
$25
2 to 200
ChatGPT Business, premium
$100
$125
2 to 200
Claude Team, standard
$20
$25
2 to 150
Claude Team, premium
$100
$125
2 to 150
Gemini Enterprise, Business edition
From $21 (term not stated)
Not stated
Up to 300
Gemini Enterprise, Standard / Plus
From $30 (contact sales)
Not stated
Unlimited
Microsoft 365 Copilot Business (add-on)
$21, promo $18
$25.20
Business plans up to 300
Microsoft 365 Business Standard with Copilot
$23.50
$28.20
Up to 300
Microsoft 365 Business Premium with Copilot
$32
$38.40
Up to 300
Microsoft 365 Copilot (enterprise add-on)
$30
$31.50
No cap stated
Three details change what you pay.
Premium seats. ChatGPT Business and Claude Team both sell a premium seat at $100 annual or $125 monthly. OpenAI says it has "5x more usage than standard, with no 5-hour limit". Anthropic says "5x more usage than standard seats". You can mix seat types in either product.
Enterprise is quote-only on three of four. ChatGPT Enterprise is "Custom pricing". Gemini Enterprise Standard and Plus say "contact sales". Claude Enterprise lists a seat at $20 a month billed annually, plus usage at API rates, so the bill scales with how much your team uses it.
The Microsoft promotion ends. The $18 Copilot Business price runs "between July 1, 2026, and December 31, 2026" and, in Microsoft's words, "promotional pricing applies to the first year only". After that it is $21.
Microsoft 365 Copilot: the add-on needs a license
Microsoft's $18 or $21 Copilot Business price is an add-on, not a full seat. Microsoft says "A separate license for a qualifying Microsoft 365 plan is required", and that the add-on is "available only to existing Microsoft 365 customers with an eligible Business plan".
So the honest comparison is the bundle. Microsoft sells two on the same page:
Business Standard with Copilot: $23.50 a user a month paid yearly, $28.20 monthly.
Business Premium with Copilot: $32 a user a month paid yearly, $38.40 monthly. Premium adds the advanced security tier.
If you already pay for Microsoft 365, the add-on at $18 to $21 is the number that matters. If you don't, the bundle at $23.50 is. We couldn't read the stand-alone Business Standard price from Microsoft's page, so we don't print it, and we don't subtract it from the bundle.
The enterprise version of Copilot is $30 a user a month paid yearly or $31.50 monthly, again with "a separate license for a qualifying Microsoft 365 plan". It adds search across 100+ connectors, Copilot Notebooks and analytics, per Microsoft's page.
What's included in each seat
All four give you chat, file uploads, connectors to your work apps, and shared projects or notebooks. The differences are in admin controls: SSO is on the entry plans, while SCIM, audit logs and role-based access are mostly reserved for Enterprise.
Controls on the entry business seat
SSO
ChatGPT Business
Yes (SAML)
Claude Team
Yes
Gemini Enterprise Business
Not stated on page
SCIM user sync
ChatGPT Business
No (Enterprise)
Claude Team
No (Enterprise)
Gemini Enterprise Business
Not stated on page
Audit logs / Compliance API
ChatGPT Business
No (Enterprise)
Claude Team
No (Enterprise)
Gemini Enterprise Business
Not stated on page
Role-based access
ChatGPT Business
No (Enterprise)
Claude Team
No (Enterprise)
Gemini Enterprise Business
Not stated on page
IP allowlisting
ChatGPT Business
No (Enterprise)
Claude Team
No (Enterprise)
Gemini Enterprise Business
Not stated on page
Spend controls and usage analytics
ChatGPT Business
Yes
Claude Team
Yes
Gemini Enterprise Business
Not stated on page
Connectors
ChatGPT Business
Google Workspace, Slack, GitHub, Microsoft 365
Claude Team
Microsoft 365, @Claude, connectors with admin controls
Gemini Enterprise Business
Microsoft 365, Google Workspace, HubSpot, Jira
Coding agent included
ChatGPT Business
Codex
Claude Team
Claude Code
Gemini Enterprise Business
Not stated on page
ChatGPT Business
Claude Team
Gemini Enterprise Business
SSO
Yes (SAML)
Yes
Not stated on page
SCIM user sync
No (Enterprise)
No (Enterprise)
Not stated on page
Audit logs / Compliance API
No (Enterprise)
No (Enterprise)
Not stated on page
Role-based access
No (Enterprise)
No (Enterprise)
Not stated on page
IP allowlisting
No (Enterprise)
No (Enterprise)
Not stated on page
Spend controls and usage analytics
Yes
Yes
Not stated on page
Connectors
Google Workspace, Slack, GitHub, Microsoft 365
Microsoft 365, @Claude, connectors with admin controls
Microsoft 365, Google Workspace, HubSpot, Jira
Coding agent included
Codex
Claude Code
Not stated on page
Each vendor's page says the following.
ChatGPT Business lists "All ChatGPT, ChatGPT Work, and Codex features", workspace agents, company knowledge, deep research and Excel, Word and PowerPoint extensions. It lists SOC 2 Type 2 as included and ISO 27001 as Enterprise only.
Claude Team lists Claude Code, Claude Design, Slides and Docs, enterprise search and central billing. Opus, Sonnet and Haiku are all on Team. Anthropic's top model is limited to "50% of weekly limits" on premium seats. Neither lab states a numeric usage cap on the pricing page.
Gemini Enterprise Business lists a no-code Workflow Builder, prebuilt agents, 25 GiB of pooled storage per seat and "Built-in security and governance". The Standard and Plus tier adds higher quota, VPC-SC and customer-managed encryption keys.
Microsoft 365 Copilot puts AI inside Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook and Teams, with pre-built agents such as Researcher and Analyst on the Business add-on.
Google Workspace is the fifth option. Its plans now include Gemini, with Starter showing limited access and Standard, Plus and Enterprise showing "expanded access" in Gmail, Docs, Meet and more. If your company already runs on Workspace, that is the baseline to compare against; we can't give you a dollar figure for it.
Data terms: what each vendor says
All four say they don't train their models on your business data by default. They differ on retention, the DPA and whether you can pick a region on the entry plan.
From each vendor's own pages, 3 October 2026. 'Not read' means we didn't find it on a vendor page. · aliteq research
OpenAI. "By default, we do not use your business data for training our models", unless you opt in. OpenAI can execute a Data Processing Addendum for ChatGPT Business, Enterprise and the API through a form. On Business, workspace admins control retention, and deleted conversations are removed within 30 days unless the law requires longer. Data residency in ten regions, including the US and EU, is listed for Enterprise and marked "No" for Business.
Anthropic. "By default, we will not use your inputs or outputs from our commercial products… to train our models". The DPA with Standard Contractual Clauses is "automatically incorporated" into the Commercial Terms. Deleted chats leave back-end storage within 30 days, and chats flagged for policy violations can be kept for up to 2 years. Custom retention controls are Enterprise only, and the pricing page lists no data-region option for Team.
Microsoft. "Prompts, responses, and data accessed through Microsoft Graph aren't used to train foundation LLMs". Copilot sits under Microsoft's Product Terms and Data Protection Addendum, and for EU customers it is an EU Data Boundary service. One catch in Microsoft's own docs: "Models provided by Anthropic as a subprocessor are currently excluded from the EU Data Boundary." Prompts and responses are logged and available to Purview and eDiscovery.
Google. For Workspace, "Your content is not human reviewed or otherwise used for Generative AI model training outside your domain without permission", under the Cloud Data Processing Addendum. For Gemini Enterprise, prompts and outputs aren't used to train Google models or any other customer's. Data residency and customer-managed keys are on the Standard and Plus tier.
If you need an EU or UK region on the seat product, only the larger tiers list one: ChatGPT Enterprise, Microsoft 365 Copilot through its EU Data Boundary, and Gemini Enterprise Standard or Plus. Whether any of this meets your legal duties is a question for counsel. The API-side version of this table is in our EU data residency guide, and the security questions buyers ask about AI features are on our security hub.
What a year costs at 10, 25 and 50 users
At 25 users, a year of ChatGPT Business or Claude Team is $6,000 on annual billing and $7,500 month to month. Microsoft's Business Standard bundle is $7,050 and Gemini Enterprise Business starts at $6,300.
Seats x list price x 12. Standard seats, annual billing, before tax, no usage credits. · aliteq research
Annual cost, standard seats (USD)
Copilot Business add-on, promo (year 1)
Per seat / month
$18
10 users
$2,160
25 users
$5,400
50 users
$10,800
ChatGPT Business or Claude Team, annual
Per seat / month
$20
10 users
$2,400
25 users
$6,000
50 users
$12,000
Gemini Enterprise Business
Per seat / month
From $21
10 users
$2,520
25 users
$6,300
50 users
$12,600
Copilot Business add-on, list
Per seat / month
$21
10 users
$2,520
25 users
$6,300
50 users
$12,600
Business Standard + Copilot (bundle)
Per seat / month
$23.50
10 users
$2,820
25 users
$7,050
50 users
$14,100
ChatGPT Business or Claude Team, monthly
Per seat / month
$25
10 users
$3,000
25 users
$7,500
50 users
$15,000
Business Premium + Copilot (bundle)
Per seat / month
$32
10 users
$3,840
25 users
$9,600
50 users
$19,200
Per seat / month
10 users
25 users
50 users
Copilot Business add-on, promo (year 1)
$18
$2,160
$5,400
$10,800
ChatGPT Business or Claude Team, annual
$20
$2,400
$6,000
$12,000
Gemini Enterprise Business
From $21
$2,520
$6,300
$12,600
Copilot Business add-on, list
$21
$2,520
$6,300
$12,600
Business Standard + Copilot (bundle)
$23.50
$2,820
$7,050
$14,100
ChatGPT Business or Claude Team, monthly
$25
$3,000
$7,500
$15,000
Business Premium + Copilot (bundle)
$32
$3,840
$9,600
$19,200
Monthly equivalents are the per-seat figure times the user count: 25 ChatGPT or Claude seats are $500 a month on annual billing, and 25 Microsoft Business Standard bundles are $587.50.
Read the table with three limits in mind.
The add-on rows leave out the license. The $2,160 to $2,520 Copilot rows exclude the Microsoft 365 plan the add-on requires. Use the bundle rows if you don't have one.
Premium seats multiply the bill. Ten ChatGPT or Claude premium seats on annual billing are $12,000 a year, five times a standard seat.
Seat price isn't total cost. Heavy users can hit usage limits, and Anthropic and OpenAI both sell extra credits. We priced list seats, not what your team will actually use.
If the goal of the seats is to cut support or sales workload, price that outcome too. Our AI customer service cost guide covers the per-resolution math, and the AI automation hub collects the rest of the cost comparisons.
How to choose
Count seats and check the cap. ChatGPT Business tops out at 200 users, Claude Team at 150, and Gemini Enterprise Business and Microsoft's Business plans at 300.
Price what you already own. If you pay for Microsoft 365, the Copilot add-on is $21 ($18 until 31 December 2026). If not, compare the $23.50 bundle.
Decide whether you need SCIM, audit logs or a data region now. On ChatGPT and Claude, that means Enterprise and a sales call.
Ask for the DPA before you roll out. OpenAI uses a form, Anthropic's is part of its Commercial Terms, Microsoft's and Google's are in their product terms.
Pilot with a few seats on monthly billing, then move to annual. Monthly is $25 against $20 on ChatGPT and Claude, a 25% premium.
aliteq sells none of these products and earns nothing from these links. Every price and data term here was read on the vendor's own page on 3 October 2026, and plans change often.
Quick answers
How much is ChatGPT Business per user?
$20 per seat a month on annual billing or $25 month to month for the standard seat, for teams of 2 to 200, as of 3 October 2026. A premium seat is $100 annual or $125 monthly. Enterprise pricing is custom.
How much does Microsoft 365 Copilot cost for a small business?
The Copilot Business add-on is $21 a user a month paid yearly, or $18 on a promotion until 31 December 2026 (first year only), and $25.20 monthly. It requires a qualifying Microsoft 365 plan. Business Standard with Copilot bundled is $23.50.
Is Claude Team the same price as ChatGPT Business?
Yes on list price. Both charge $20 a standard seat on annual billing and $25 monthly, and $100 or $125 for a premium seat. Claude Team is for 2 to 150 seats and ChatGPT Business for 2 to 200.
Do these AI tools train on my company's data?
Each vendor's own pages say not by default. OpenAI, Anthropic, Microsoft and Google state that business or customer prompts and outputs aren't used to train their models unless you opt in or give permission. Check the contract for your exact plan.
Which plan offers EU data residency?
On the seat products, ChatGPT lists data residency in ten regions, including the EU, for Enterprise only. Microsoft 365 Copilot is an EU Data Boundary service for EU customers. Google lists data residency for Gemini Enterprise Standard and Plus. Anthropic's pricing page lists none for Team.
What does Gemini cost for business?
Gemini Enterprise starts at $21 a seat a month for the Business edition (up to 300 seats) and $30 for Standard and Plus, per Google's page. Google Workspace plans also include Gemini; we couldn't read their US dollar prices, so we don't quote them.